Jamaica capital - Kingston
The national capital of Jamaica is Kingston.
Villa de la Vega was founded by governor Francisco de Garay in 1534 as capital of Jamaica in 1534 and served as capital until British conquered Jamaica in 1655. British renamed the town as Spanish Town. Since the town was badly damaged during the conquest, Port Royal served as 'de facto' capital from 1655 until it was devastated by an earthquake in 1692. After the earthquake, Spanish Town was again functioning as the capital and remained as the capital until 1872. Kingston was designated as the capital in 1872 and serving as capital till date.